Raspberry Rings…with jam and Nutella

DPP_0001

Lucky me, to receive this lovely baking book for my birthday from my similarly kitchen-obsessed little sister.  Alice Arndell’s Alice in Bakingland is a treat for the eyes as much as anything, full of pictures of dainty plates, matching teacup-and-saucer sets, all showing off delightful mounds of delicious cakes and biscuits.  Squeal!

So of course it was absolutely necessary that I set about testing some of these recipes as a matter of priority.  These Raspberry Rings happen to be the very first recipe of the book.  Yes, I was only one recipe in when I came across my first ‘must bake.’ I prefer to think this says more about the calibre of the recipes and less about just plain greediness on my part.
To make Alice’s lovely Raspberry Rings, I started by creaming together 200g softened butter and half a cup of sugar, then beating in 4 tablespoons of condensed milk, as directed. Readers of my blog may be aware of my love of creamed butter and sugar. Condensed milk does nothing to dampen the flame.
I continued to add the required 2 tablespoons of milk, 2 cups of plain flour, 2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon of salt.  The recipe asks that one shapes the dough into two flat discs, wraps in plastic wrap and refrigerates.  Here are mine:
IMG_0966
After half an hour in the chiller, one disc of dough is rolled out onto a very well floured board.  And can I stress here the importance of lots of flour from my personal experience…it’s always a little upsetting to pick one’s hard-earned dough from the roller.  Alice directs that the dough is rolled out to 4mm thickness, and 5mm rounds are cut from the dough.  I have a lovely star-shaped cookie cutter that I simply don’t get to use enough, so I decided to do some star-shaped biscuits as well.
IMG_0970
Now the surgical precision really begins….the next step is to cut little shapes from the centre of these rounds (and stars, in my case).  I recommend a good sharp knife for this.
IMG_0972
The second disc of dough becomes the bottom layer of the biscuits, so I made a second set of rounds and stars.  The biscuits are baked at 190 degrees celsius until just going brown around the edges – this took about 10 minutes in my oven.  Once cool, it’s time to sandwich the biscuits.  Alice’s recipe asks for a teaspoon of jam, and I used mixed berry for about half of mine.
For the other half, I had a brainwave…Nutella.  This delightful chocolate and nut spread billed as some kind of health breakfast condiment is usually something I eat from the jar with a spoon, so the step to delicious chocolately cement for biscuits wasn’t too difficult at all.
IMG_0973
A gentle dusting with icing sugar and they are ready to go.  The verdict?  Both pretty and scrumptious.  I can’t wait to try some more from this book.
DPP_0002DPP_0003
2 thoughts on “Raspberry Rings…with jam and Nutella

  1. “Condensed milk does nothing to dampen the flame…” ha ha! Love your writing, giggled out loud in the course of this several times. And wish I could taste your biccies! 😀

    xx

    A.

Leave a Reply

